side walks

I was walking down the street absorbed in my ipod…had it on louder than usual trying to ignore the cold wind and soak the sun and the rhythms deep into my soul. I was aware of not putting my whole self on the sidewalk, doing the space walk just fine.. But, then a woman walked next to me. Indian, shorter than me. Bundled in a beautiful colorful patterned scarf and serious black North Face Jacket. I felt her purposefully keep a stride with me and walk a little too close. But, when I looked over she didn’t look at me – her mouth did turn up a bit into the littest smile and her eyes softened at the edges. Her mouth was moving in song. I turned my headphones off, but I couldn’t make out the words to her mantra, but, I could tell she was repeating the words and sharing them, her stride and the sidewalk with me. I walked along with her for a few blocks until she went to Foods Co. never having looked at me. I went to work.

I am not sure there is always a meaning in things. Other than that things happen that draw us out of our own heads and connect us back to world. Thank you lady, whoever you are, thank you for sharing the sidewalk with me! Below are some things that have shared the sidewalk with me around this city of San Francisco the last week or so. Things that have inspired me into noticing and wondering.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The past few weeks have had me in a quiet place, listening to music, reading whole articles in the Nation, having tea with friends, avoiding really cleaning out the house, snuggling up with my son on sofa to read Howard Zinn’s, A Young People’s History of the United States, picking up the guitar again plucking though Mel Bay’s Modern Guitar Method – Grade ONE (in love with playing the notes, trying to figure out a chord and happy with going nowhere fast.) I have turned off the internets and phone way more often, gone to bed early…and spent a lotta time thinking about love and connection and being inspired by the little things. It is so easy to forget them in this world of instant technological contact and too much information.

While feasting on the most amazingly sweet artichoke (psst artichokes are good for your liver and your gallbladder, rich in many vits and minerals and folic acid, a pro biotic for the digestive tract!) and left over Indian food, from my favorite Indian place in San Francisco – Udupi Palace (psst..the tables are close and the place small, new friends over comfort food yuminess food amazing milky tea are always made.) and reading some links sent by friends I was captured by this one. Please read it, digest it and love.

Liking Is for Cowards. Go for What Hurts – By JONATHAN FRANZEN

There is no such thing as a person whose real self you like every particle of. This is why a world of liking is ultimately a lie. But there is such a thing as a person whose real self you love every particle of. And this is why love is such an existential threat to the techno-consumerist order: it exposes the lie. ~ Jonathan Franzen

Back to cleaning the house.
Fill the world with love.
~m
dam funk ❤

~ by asmallfryup on May 29, 2011.

Leave a Reply

