fallin’ asleep like a chicken nugget and no more john denver and the muppets.

As I was snuggling my son to sleep the other night he said, “mama, I’m fallin’ asleep like a chicken nugget, like a caterpillar in a cocoon.” He is the sweetest guy, with a gift of gab something like John Madden and Mohamed Ali’s love child. Recently he has really been playing the shit out of David Ford’s new album Let the Hard Times Roll. A good old moody indy rockish record. Wailing lamenting songs with a driving edge. Not quite my cuppa – but, you might like it – there are a few gems on there – but, ya’ know it is a grand grand ol’ step into the light! We’d been listening to John Denver and the Muppet’s Christmas Album – side one only – for months and months. (I didn’t link to that one – thank me – really!)

For me the latest (its called Propeller Time) from the amazingly prolific Robin Hitchcock (and the Venus 3 those are some pretty groovey pals – like R.E.M.’s Pete Buck, Scott McCaughey of Young Fresh Fellows and Ministry’s Bill Rieflin and then John Paul Jones, Johnny Marr and Nick Lowe) has captured my repetitive album ear. It is lovely, dreamy, introspective and wry – wry like only robyn hitchcock can be! the last song – evolve is a wonder:”What you call God, I call evolution / What you call fate, I call mum and dad.” love that! give it all a listen.

~ by asmallfryup on April 11, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
